Members of the Courts Council

The Courts Council is CSV's governing body and comprises the Heads of each of the six jurisdictions, and up to two independent members appointed by the Council. The Council is chaired by the Chief Justice of the day.

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of VictoriaPhoto of Chief Justice Warren

The Honourable Chief Justice Marilyn Warren AC was first appointed as a judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria in 1998 and subsequently appointed Chief Justice of Victoria in 2003.

In June 2005, the Chief Justice was made a Companion in the Order of Australia (AC) for service to the judiciary and to the legal profession in the delivery and administration of law in Victoria, to social and economic conditions of women and to forensic medicine.

Her Honour assumed the role of Lieutenant-Governor of Victoria on 7 April 2006.


Chief Judge of the County Court of VictoriaPhoto of Chief Judge Kidd

His Honour Chief Judge Peter Kidd was formally sworn in as the new Chief Judge of the County Court of Victoria on 28 September 2015.

His Honour was previously a Senior Crown Prosecutor, Senior Counsel, Solicitor for the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions and an International Prosecutor at the War Crimes Chamber of the State Court of Bosnia and Herzegovina.


Chief Magistrate of the Magistrates’ Court of Victoria

Photo of Chief Magistrate LauritsenHis Honour Chief Magistrate Peter Lauritsen commenced in the position on 29 November 2012 after being first appointed as a magistrate in 1989, and Deputy Chief Magistrate in 2003. Between 1987 and 1989, Peter Lauritsen was a magistrate for the Northern Territory.



President, Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal

Photo of Justice Garde

The Honourable Justice Gregory Garde AO RFD was appointed a Justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria and President of the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal in 2012.

His Honour was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 1995, and an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2005.



State Coroner, Coroners CourtPhoto of Judge Hinchey

Her Honour, Judge Sara Hinchey was appointed as the new State Coroner on 15 December 2015.

Her Honour was appointed as a Judge of the County Court in May 2015, following more than 19 years’ working as a trial and appellate barrister. During that time, she appeared before the Coroners Court in some of the state’s most high-profile inquests including the Kerang Rail Disaster and the Burnley Tunnel Inquest.


President of the Children’s CourtPhoto of Judge Chambers

Judge Amanda Chambers was appointed a Judge of the County Court of Victoria and President of the Children’s Court of Victoria on 9 June.

Prior to her appointment, Judge Chambers served as a Magistrate of the State of Victoria for over eight years and was Supervising Magistrate of the Sexual Offences List for the past three years.



Independent Member

Photo of Dr Williams

Dr Philip Williams AM heads the legal and competition team of Frontier Economics (Australia). Dr Williams’ key area of expertise is the relationship between economics and the law, and he is a co-author of the Australasian Institute of Judicial Administration Report of Court Governance.

He was formerly Professor of Law and Economics in the Melbourne Business School at the University of Melbourne.


This page was last updated: Tuesday 22 November 2016 - 3:07pm